Delphi - Questions fréquentes

Delphi est l'EDI Object Pascal le plus puissant du marché, associé à une bibliothèque de composants pour le développement natif multiplateforme, à des services cloud flexibles et à une connectivité étendue à l'IoT. Delphi intègre de puissants contrôles VCL pour Windows 10 et prend en charge le développement FMX pour Windows, Mac et systèmes mobiles. Delphi est la solution de référence pour accélérer les développements robustes d'entreprise (Enterprise Strong Development™). Il prend en charge une mémoire étendue pour les projets complexes et de multiples moniteurs et intègre un inspecteur d'objets amélioré et bien d'autres nouveautés. Delphi est cinq fois plus rapide pour développer et déployer des applications sur de multiples appareils bureautiques et mobiles, environnements cloud et bases de données (y compris sous Windows 10 32 et 64 bits).

Delphi – La plateforme de développement la plus rapide pour Windows 10, Mac, systèmes mobiles et IoT.

ER/Studio 9.5 Developer (édition Architect uniquement) – ER/Studio aide les architectes de données à découvrir, documenter et réutiliser leurs ressources en leur offrant des outils simples d'ingénierie inverse, d'analyse et d'optimisation des bases existantes.

InterBase Developer et InterBase ToGo (édition Professional et au-delà) – InterBase Developer Edition est une excellente base de données multiplateforme pour construire et tester des applications embarquées et pour le marché des PME.

IBLite database for Windows, OS X, Android and iOS with free deployment license (in Professional with Mobile Add-On, Enterprise and Architect editions) – Use this new edition of InterBase in your mobile apps and deploy free. InterBase ToGo is also available (sold separately) for developers who want a more feature rich database with encryption to embed in their apps.

Outils additionnels – Delphi intègre également une suite complète d’outils pour élargir son périmètre fonctionnel. Il s'agit généralement d'éditions spéciales d'outils créés pour être intégrés à Delphi et dont les fonctionnalités peuvent différer des versions commerciales complètes.

  • FastReport VCL RAD Edition et FastReport FMX Embarcadero Edition (de Fast Reports) pour accélérer la conception et la production de rapports.
  • TeeChart Standard (Steema) une gamme de composants graphiques rapides et ergonomiques.
  • CodeSite Express pour concevoir des applications de qualité.
  • Beyond Compare Text Compare pour visualiser les différences entre fichiers source.
  • IntraWeb (Atozed) pour développer des applications Web de la même façon qu'avec Delphi.

Delphi est disponible en anglais, français, allemand et japonais. L'installateur permet de choisir toute combinaison de langues et il est très simple d’en changer au sein de l’EDI.

You can view pricing and purchase Delphi from Embarcadero Sales, one of our valuable partners, or our online Embarcadero Shop site.

L'acquisition de l'abonnement aux mises à jour est obligatoire lors de l'achat de votre licence ou mise à jour de Delphi. Le contrat d'abonnement vous assure pendant une année l'accès à toutes les mises à jour (majeures et mineures) et un nombre défini d'incidents de support. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez vous reporter à la page consacrée à l'abonnement aux mises à jour.

Les utilisateurs de Delphi peuvent télécharger les mises à jour et logiciels additionnels sur la page de téléchargement pour les utilisateurs enregistrés http://cc.embarcadero.com/reg/delphi. Des notifications sont envoyées par e-mail dès la disponibilité de ces nouvelles éditions – qui peuvent être téléchargées via le portail Web de maintenance en suivant les instructions fournies dans l'e-mail.

You can visit our online store and the upgrade qualifications page for more details.

Les licences Academic ne sont pas éligibles aux tarifs de migration.

Delphi est proposé en quatre éditions : Starter, Professional, Enterprise et Architect. Veuillez vous reporter à la page des éditions de Delphi et à la matrice fonctionnelle pour plus de détails sur les différences entre éditions.

Delphi offre plusieurs options de licence:

  • Des licences individuelles dénommées, livrées par des moyens électroniques (ESD) sous forme d'un téléchargement et d'un numéro de série. Des offres remisées sont également proposées en cas d'achat groupé de 5 ou 10 licences.
  • Network Named and Concurrent user licenses managed using Embarcadero AppWave provide the additional flexibility of managing licenses on a license server plus software provisioning.
  • Des licences réseau par Flexera FlexNet sont également disponibles sur demande.
  • Des licences « Academic » individuelles pour étudiants et formateurs et par volume pour utilisation en salle de cours sont également proposées.

Yes, 10 Seattle and below are included with your 10.1 Berlin purchase. See the Delphi Previous Versions web page for further details.

Non. Elles sont considérées comme partie intégrante de votre licence et sont associées à votre compte utilisateur. Elles ne peuvent à ce titre être ni données, ni revendues.

La licence de votre ancienne version et votre mise à jour sont considérées comme une même licence d'utilisateur désigné couvrant les deux versions. Si vous disposez déjà d'une version antérieure et vous rendez sur la page Web pour demander une licence de la même version, vous recevrez à nouveau votre numéro de série existant.

Certains produits anciens ne sont disponibles que dans les éditions Professional et Enterprise.

Nous ne pouvons pas garantir une disponibilité permanente des versions antérieures, c'est pourquoi vous devez télécharger vos versions et licences antérieures dans les 180 jours suivant votre achat.

Les versions antérieures existent en anglais, allemand, français et japonais. Pour les versions 2007 et ultérieures, il n'existe qu'un seul package de téléchargement et la langue doit être choisie à l'installation. Pour la version 7, des téléchargements séparés sont proposés pour chaque version localisée.

L'édition Academic ne peut être utilisée qu'à des fins de formation ou en environnement de salle de classe. Les établissements de formation ne peuvent pas utiliser cette version pour développer des logiciels à utilisation interne.

Veuillez vous reporter à la liste des versions supportées pour des informations actualisées.

Certains utilisateurs pourraient être surpris d'acheter Delphi et de recevoir simultanément 7 numéros de série et liens de téléchargement... Pour que les choses restent simples, nous ne livrons que la licence de la version effectivement achetée en laissant à l'utilisateur la liberté de choisir les autres licences qui lui sont utiles.

La version 2006 intégrait du code tiers sous licence que nous ne pouvons plus livrer. Delphi 6 et les versions antérieures ont été abandonnés il y plusieurs années et il n'est pas prévu de les réintroduire.

Ces versions s'appuient sur une édition antérieure de notre technologie de gestion des licences.

Oui. Lors de la première utilisation, une mini-application s'ouvre pour vous demander d'enregistrer le produit. Lorsque cette opération est réalisée et la clé du produit validée, le produit peut être enregistré et installé.

L'édition InterBase XE7 Developer est la version serveur concédée jusqu'à 20 utilisateurs (80 connexions en base de données). Le logiciel InterBase est automatiquement installé par défaut avec Delphi ; sa licence est concédée à travers le numéro de série de votre version de Delphi. Une licence développeur InterBase ToGo est également intégrée à votre licence Delphi. Vous pouvez déployer InterBase ToGo à des fins de test avec le numéro de série de déploiement de test figurant dans votre e-mail de livraison de Delphi. Cette possibilité n'est pas proposée aux utilisateurs de licences réseau AppWave.

Lorsque vous êtes prêt à déployer des applications utilisant InterBase, Embarcadero propose différentes éditions (Desktop, Server et To-Go) et options de licence (système flexible de licences serveur, multipacks et licences OEM). Pour de plus amples informations, n'hésitez pas à contacter l'équipe commerciale d'Embarcadero ou ses partenaires. Veuillez vous reporter aux conditions spécifiées dans le fichier Delphi license.rtf pour plus de détails sur les licences.

Pour obtenir votre licence de déploiement gratuit d'IBLite, veuillez utiliser le numéro de série IBLite indiqué dans votre e-mail de livraison de commande et suivre les instructions pour générer le fichier de licence que vous utiliserez pour distribuer IBLite avec vos applications Windows, OS X, iOS et Android.

Le projet open-source se situe sur http://sourceforge.net/projects/radstudioverins/. Le référentiel de code open-source est disponible dans l'onglet Code lorsque vous vous connectez au site SourceForge ou sur https://radstudioverins.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/radstudioverins/trunk/.

Les fonctionnalités de développement mobile pour Android et iOS sont intégrées aux éditions suivantes de Delphi:

  • Professional avec pack additionnel Mobile
  • Enterprise
  • Ultimate
  • Architect

L'édition Professional sans pack Mobile et l'édition Starter ne prennent pas en charge le développement mobile.

Les fonctionnalités de développement mobile sont également intégrées à toutes les éditions d'Embarcadero RAD Studio.

Les connecteurs mobiles DataSnap sont intégrés à l'édition Enterprise et au-delà.

Lors du développement pour iOS, vous devez également disposer d'un ordinateur Mac pour le développement et le simulateur. Vous devez également avoir un compte Développeur Apple pour tester et déployer sur des appareils iOS. Pour plus de détails, veuillez consulter la documentation en ligne et la documentation produit.

FireDAC rend ludique le développement d'applications pour bases de données grâce à des performances supérieures et des connexions multisystèmes aux bases de données d'entreprise avec Delphi, C++Builder et RAD Studio. Grâce à une puissante architecture universelle, FireDAC offre à vos applications des accès directs à Oracle, SQL Server, InterBase, DB2, Firebird, SQLite, MySQL, PostgreSQL, SQL Anywhere, Advantage DB, Access, Informix, DataSnap, etc. Vous pouvez désormais accéder également aux bases de données IBLite, InterBase ToGo et SQLite depuis vos applications Delphi pour Android et iOS. Au-delà de ses performances supérieures et d'accès universels, FireDAC prend également en charge les fonctionnalités spécifiques aux bases de données ainsi que les déploiements sur de multiples systèmes d'exploitation clients et plateformes cibles.

FireDAC est inclus dans le cadre de l'installation du produit. Les fonctionnalités varient en fonction de l'édition : connexions locales/embarquées à une sélection de bases de données pour l'édition Professional ; connexions locales/embarquées et aux bases de données d'entreprise pour l'édition Enterprise (et supérieures) ou avec l'achat du Pack additionnel client/serveur pour l'édition Professional. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez consulter http://www.embarcadero.com/fr/products/rad-studio/firedac.

Oui. Vous pouvez développer des applications sur n'importe quelle plateforme prise en charge et les déployer sur n'importe laquelle des plateformes de déploiement prises en charge - même si elles sont différentes.

La technologie de connecteurs mobiles DataSnap génère du code de connectivité que vous pouvez intégrer à vos applications mobiles pour iOS, Android, Blackberry et Windows Phone 7. Vous développez alors des applications mobiles avec les outils et langages spécifiques à chaque plateforme (Objective C avec l'EDI Xcode pour iOS, Java pour Android et Blackberry, Silverlight pour Windows Phone 7). Le code DataSnap assure alors la connexion avec votre serveur DataSnap natif C++Builder ou Delphi.

Les connecteurs DataSnap prennent en charge les plateformes mobiles suivantes:

  • Android 2.x, 3.x, 4.x (Java)
  • Windows Phone 7 (C# Silverlight – Tous appareils compatibles avec la plateforme)
  • iOS 7 et 8 (Objective-C)
  • 1 Go de RAM (2 Go ou plus recommandés)
  • 3-30 Go d'espace disque libre selon l'édition et la configuration
  • Lecteur de DVD-ROM (en cas d’installation avec le kit média DVD)
  • Basic GPU – Type DirectX 9.0 ou supérieur de n'importe quel éditeur (Pixel Shader Level 2)
  • Intel® Pentium® ou compatible, 1,6 GHz minimum (2GHz+ recommandé)
  • Résolution 1024x768 ou supérieure
  • Souris ou autre périphérique de pointage
  • Microsoft® Windows 10 (32 et 64 bits)
  • Microsoft® Windows 8 ou 8.1 (32 et 64 bits)
  • Microsoft® Windows 7 SP1 (32 et 64 bits)
  • Delphi peut également être exécuté sous OS X avec une machine virtuelle (VM) telle que VMware Fusion ou Parallels hébergeant Windows 7, 8 ou 10.

Prérequis d'installation
Les logiciels suivants seront automatiquement installés s'ils ne sont pas déjà présents dans le système d'exploitation:

  • Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5
  • Package redistribuable Microsoft Visual J 2.0
  • Windows Internet Explorer® 6.0 ou ultérieur
  • MSXML 6

Développement Windows 64 bits
PC équipé d'une version 64 bits de Windows ou PC de développement 32 bits connecté à un PC exécutant une version 64 bits de Windows.

Développement OS X
PC Windows connecté à un Mac à processeur Intel ou Mac exécutant Windows dans une machine virtuelle, avec 2 Go de RAM ou plus, sous OS X 10.9 (Mavericks) ou 10.8 (Mountain Lion).

Développement iOS
PC Windows connecté à un Mac à processeur Intel ou Mac exécutant Windows dans une machine virtuelle, avec 2 Go de RAM ou plus, sous OS X 10.9 ou 10.8 avec Xcode 5.0 ou 5.1.1. Un compte Développeur Apple est nécessaire pour déployer des applications iOS sur les systèmes physiques.

Plateformes de déploiement prises en charge
PC et tablettes à processeurs Intel/AMD sous Windows 7 SP1, 8, 8.1, Windows Server 2008 ou Windows Server 2012. Mac sous OS X 10.8 ou 10.9. iPhone, iPad ou iPod Touch sous iOS 7 Microsoft Windows Server® 2008 & 2012. Téléphones et tablettes Android : appareils à processeurs ARMv7 avec support NEON sous Android Gingerbread (2.3.3-2.7), Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0.3, 4.0.4), Jelly Bean (4.1.x, 4.2.x ou 4.3.x) ou KitKat (4.4.x).

En raison de l'utilisation d'Unicode comme type de chaîne par défaut, les applications écrites avec Delphi 2009 ou une version ultérieure ne fonctionnent pas sous Windows 98, 95 et ME. Ces systèmes ne prennent pas en charge Unicode et Microsoft n'en assure plus le support.

Les applications développées avec Delphi 2099-XE2 et VCL fonctionnent sous Windows 2000 et ultérieur. Les applications développées avec Delphi XE3-XE5 fonctionnent sous Windows XP et ultérieur. Les applications développées avec Delphi XE6-XE7 fonctionneront sous Windows 7 ou ultérieur.

Les applications créées avec Delphi fonctionnent sur les téléphones et tablettes Android à processeurs ARMv7 avec support NEON FPU sous Android Gingerbread (2.3.3-2.7), Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0.3, 4.0.4), Jelly Bean (4.1.x, 4.2.x, 4.3.x), KitKat (4.4.x) ou Lollipop (5.x). La compatibilité peut varier en fonction du système matériel et des spécifications du dispositif. Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur les versions et appareils Android pris en charge (y compris ceux que nous avons testés).

MacinCloud vous permet de lancer les applications OS X créées avec Delphi. Vous pouvez également utiliser MacinCloud pour tester vos applications dans le simulateur iOS. L'accès physique à une machine Mac est requis pour les tests sur l'appareil.

Oui. Vous pouvez créer une seule application et la déployer sous Windows et OS X. Vous pouvez également créer des applications mobiles iOS et Android à partir de la même base de code.

La plupart du code existant fonctionnera parfaitement en utilisant le nouveau module UnicodeString par défaut. Le code réalisant des manipulations de chaînes de niveau octet ou portant des données dans les variables de chaînes devra probablement être analysé et mis à jour pour prendre en charge les nouvelles tailles de caractères propres aux chaînes Unicode. Pour plus d'informations sur les migrations Unicode, veuillez vous reporter à la documentation et à Embarcadero Developer Network.

Normalement oui, en fonction des composants installés nécessaires au projet. Delphi utilise le système MSBuild comme moteur de construction et exige par conséquent un nouveau fichier de projet en cas de mise à jour depuis une version 2007 ou antérieure. Cependant, l'EDI réalise une mise à jour transparente des projets dans le nouveau format.

Non. Delphi produit des solutions natives Windows et OS X. Il est possible d'importer des assemblages .NET en tant qu'objets COM, cependant, le code produit par Delphi est strictement natif.

Certaines fonctionnalités de l'EDI exigent la présence de ces packages logiciels.

Non. Les applications produites avec Delphi ne nécessitent aucun support d'exécution .NET. Le produit génère des applications Windows natives compilées basées sur l'API Windows.

Les fonctionnalités de modélisation des données et de visualisation d'ER/Studio Developer proposées avec Delphi Architect sont un sous-ensemble du produit complet. Delphi Architect ne propose pas de fonctionnalités d'import/export des métadonnées ni d'accès aux serveurs de référentiel d'équipe d'ER/Studio. Ses fonctionnalités de reporting sont limitées (HTML uniquement). Les fonctionnalités ER/Studio de Delphi Architect supportent un jeu spécifique de bases de données, aligné sur celles prises en charge par dbExpress, alors que les produits ER/Studio complets proposent des configurations flexibles pour ces bases de données et bien d'autres.

Oui. Delphi cohabite parfaitement avec toutes les versions antérieures de RAD Studio, C++Builder et Delphi.

Oui. Pour Delphi, COMPILERVERSION est défini sur 28.0 et RTLVERSION sur 28.0.

Oui. Veuillez vous reporter à la page certification du Centre de Certification Embarcadero pour plus d'informations sur le programme de certification développeur Delphi.

Oui, le compilateur 64 bits est inclus avec Delphi.

The Delphi 64-bit information page has videos, information, resources and tips on creating 64-bit applications with Delphi.

Delphi Frequently Asked Questions

General FAQ

 

What is Delphi?

Embarcadero® Delphi® 10 Seattle is the fastest way to build and update data-rich, hyper connected, visually engaging applications for Windows 10, Mac, Mobile, IoT and more. Quickly and easily update VCL and FMX applications to Windows 10 with the new Windows 10 VCL Controls, Styles, and Universal Windows Platform services components. Enjoy an enhanced development experience with double the available memory for large projects, extended multi-monitor support, and enhanced Object Inspector. Delphi 10 enables developers to deliver applications up to 5x faster across multiple desktop, mobile, cloud, and database platforms including 32-bit and 64-bit Windows 10.

What's new in Delphi?

For detailed information visit the What's New in Delphi page.

What does Delphi include?

Delphi – The Fastest Application Development Platform for Windows 10, Mac, Mobile and IoT.

DB PowerStudio Dev edition (in Ultimate edition only) – DB PowerStudio provides fast SQL database development, database change management, SQL profiling, and SQL tuning

ER/Studio 9.5 Developer Edition (in Architect edition only) – ER/Studio helps data architects discover, document, and re-use data assets and gives you the power to easily reverse-engineer, analyze, and optimize existing databases.

InterBase Developer Edition and InterBase ToGo (in Professional edition and above) – InterBase Developer Edition provides developers with the best cross-platform database to build and test database applications for embedded and SME applications.

IBLite database for Windows, OS X, Android and iOS with free deployment license (in Professional with Mobile Add-On, Enterprise, Ultimate and Architect editions) – Use this new edition of InterBase in your apps and deploy free. InterBase ToGo is also available (sold separately) for developers who want a more feature rich database to embed in their apps.

Additional Tools – Delphi includes a comprehensive set of additional tools to help you do more than ever before. These are generally special editions of the tools created to be bundled with Delphi and the feature sets may differ from the full commercial versions.

  • FastReport VCL RAD edition and FastReport FireMonkey Embarcadero Edition from Fast Reports so you can quickly design and generate reports
  • TeeChart Standard from Steema provides quick and easy-to-use charting components
  • CodeSite Express logging tools for building quality applications
  • Beyond Compare Text Compare lets you view differences between source files
  • IntraWeb from Atozed for building web applications in the same way you build Delphi applications

Is Delphi available in languages other than English?

Delphi is available in English, French, German and Japanese. The installer lets you choose any combination of languages and it's easy to switch between languages in the IDE.

LICENSE & VERSION FAQ

 

Where can I purchase Delphi? How much does it cost?

You can view pricing and purchase Delphi from Embarcadero Sales, one of our valuable partners, or our online Embarcadero Shop site.

What is Update Subscription for Delphi?

The purchase of Update Subscription is mandatory at the time you purchase your Delphi product or upgrade. The Update Subscription agreement gives you a year of upgrades (including major and minor upgrades) and a specified number of support incidents. See the Update Subscription page for more detail.

Where can I get the latest updates for Delphi?

Updates and additional software for Delphi users are available on the registered users download page at http://cc.embarcadero.com/reg/delphi. Notifications for those upgrades are delivered via email and the upgrades can be downloaded via the Maintenance Portal web site by following the instructions in the email.

Who qualifies for the upgrade pricing on Delphi?

You can visit our online store and the upgrade qualifications page for more details.

Academic products do not qualify for upgrade pricing.

Which editions are available and what are the differences between the editions?

Delphi is available in five editions – Starter, Professional, Enterprise, Ultimate and Architect. See the Delphi product editions page and feature matrix for details on the differences between the editions.

Which types of licenses are available?

Delphi is available with multiple licensing options including:

  • Individual named user licenses delivered via electronic software delivery (ESD) as a download and serial number. Discounted 5-packs and 10-packs are also available.
  • Network Named and Concurrent user licenses managed using Embarcadero AppWave provide the additional flexibility of managing licenses on a license server plus software provisioning
  • Network licenses managed by Flexera FlexNet are available on a special request basis
  • Academic individual licenses for students and educators as well as volume licenses for classroom use

Are earlier version licenses included with Delphi?

Yes. With Delphi Professional edition and above, you also get access to licenses for earlier versions. See the Delphi Previous Versions web page for further details.

Can I give away or sell my older version licenses?

No. They are considered part of your license and are tied to your user account. They cannot be given away or sold.

If I already had an earlier version and requested my free earlier version license, why do you send my same earlier version serial number again instead of a second one?

Your earlier version license, and the version you upgrade to, are considered one named user license that covers both versions. If you already own an earlier version and go to the web page and request the same version license, you will just get a re-send of your existing serial number.

If I buy an Architect or Ultimate edition, why do I only get Enterprise editions of some of the older licenses?

Some of those earlier products are only available as Professional and Enterprise editions.

Why is there a limit of 180 days to request my earlier version licenses?

We can't guarantee that the older versions will be available indefinitely so you should be sure to download your earlier version software and licenses within 180 days.

Which localized languages are the older versions available in?

The earlier versions are available in English, French, German and Japanese. For versions 2007 and later, there is a single download and you choose the language at install time. For version 7, there is a separate download for each localized version.

What are the limitations of the Academic editions?

The Academic edition can be used only for learning in an academic or classroom environment. Educational institutions cannot use the academic version to produce software for use within their institution to commercial licenses.

What is the support status of different versions of Delphi?

See the Supported Versions List for the latest information by version.

Why do I have to request the older serial numbers and downloads separately? Why don't you just send them all at once when I buy?

It could be a little confusing for some customers when they purchase Delphi and receive seven different serial numbers and download links. We tried to keep it simple by just delivering the license for the purchased version and allow you to request the other licenses as needed.

Why can't I get version 2006 or the much older versions?

Version 2006 included some third party licensed code that we are no longer able to ship. Delphi 6 and earlier were discontinued years ago and we don't have plans to bring them back.

Why can't I manage Delphi 7 licenses via my network license manager?

Those versions used an earlier version of our licensing technology.

Do I have to register my copy of Delphi?

Yes. When you first run the product, a small application will open and ask you to register the product. Once that is done, and your product key is validated, then your product will be registered and installed.

How is InterBase licensed in Delphi?

InterBase XE7 Developer Edition is InterBase XE7 Server licensed for up to 20 users (80 database connections). The InterBase software is automatically installed with a default install of Delphi and licensed with your Delphi serial number. An InterBase ToGo developer license is also included in your Delphi license. You can deploy InterBase ToGo for testing purposes using the ToGo Test Deployment serial number included as part of your Delphi order delivery email. This is not available for AppWave Network license users.

When you're ready to deploy applications using InterBase, Embarcadero offers a variety of editions (Desktop, Server and To-Go) and a variety of licensing options (flexible server licensing, multi-packs and OEM licensing). Contact Embarcadero Sales or partners for more information. See the license terms in the Delphi license.rtf file for additional licensing details.

To obtain your free IBLite deployment license, use the IBLite serial number in your order delivery email and follow the instructions to generate a license file that you will use to distribute IBLite with your Windows, OS X, Android and iOS applications.

Technical FAQ


Where can I find the open source project for the Subversion integration in Delphi?

The open source project is http://sourceforge.net/projects/radstudioverins/. The repository for the open source code is available from the "Code" tab when you're logged in to SourceForge web site or at https://radstudioverins.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/radstudioverins/trunk/.

 How does Delphi compare with Appmethod?

See this FAQ for details.

How can I do mobile development with Delphi?

Mobile development features for Android and iOS are available in the following editions of Delphi:

  • Professional + Mobile Add-On Pack
  • Enterprise
  • Ultimate
  • Architect

Professional edition without the Mobile Add-On Pack and Starter edition do not support mobile development.

Mobile development features are also included in all editions of Embarcadero RAD Studio.

DataSnap Mobile Connectors are available in Enterprise edition and above.

When developing for iOS, you will also need a Mac computer for development and running in the simulator. You will need an Apple Developer account to test and deploy to iOS devices. Additional details are available in the online and product documentation.

What is FireDAC?

FireDAC makes database app development fun again with high performance, multi-device enterprise database connectivity for Delphi, C++Builder and RAD Studio. With its powerful universal architecture FireDAC enables direct access from your applications to Oracle, SQL Server, InterBase, DB2, Firebird, SQLite, MySQL, PostgreSQL, SQL Anywhere, Advantage DB, Access, Informix, DataSnap and more. And now, access to IBLite, InterBase ToGo and SQLite databases from your Delphi Android and iOS apps. In addition to blazing speed and universal access, FireDAC also supports vendor specific database features as well as deployment across multiple client operating systems and device platforms.

How can I get FireDAC for Delphi?

FireDAC is included as part of the install. Features vary by edition with local/embedded database connectivity to select databases in Professional edition and local/embedded plus enterprise database connectivity in Enterprise edition or higher, or with purchase of the Client/Server Add-On Pack for Professional. More information is available at http://www.embarcadero.com/products/rad-studio/firedac.

Can I develop applications on one version of Windows and deploy to others?

Yes. You can develop applications on any of the supported development platforms and deploy your app to any of the supported deployment platforms - even if they are different.

How do the DataSnap Mobile Connectors work? Do I build the full mobile application with Delphi?

The DataSnap Mobile Connector feature generates connectivity code that you can incorporate into mobile applications for iOS, Android, Blackberry and Windows Phone 7. You develop your mobile applications using the standard development tools and languages for each platform such as Objective C with the Xcode IDE for iOS, Java for Android and Blackberry, or Silverlight for Windows Phone 7. You then use the DataSnap Mobile Connector code to provide connectivity to your native C++Builder or Delphi DataSnap server.

Which platforms and devices are supported with the DataSnap Mobile Connectors?

The following mobile platforms are currently supported by the various DataSnap Connectors:

  • Android 2.x, 3.x, 4.x (Java)
  • Windows Phone 7 (C# Silverlight--all devices compatible with the platform)
  • iOS 7 and 8 (Objective-C)

What are the system requirements for Delphi?

  • 1 GB RAM (2 GB+ recommended)
  • 3-30 GB free hard disk space depending on edition and configuration
  • DVD-ROM drive (if installing from a Media Kit DVD)
  • Basic GPU – Any vendor DirectX 9.0 class or better (Pixel Shader Level 2)
  • Intel® Pentium® or compatible, 1.6 GHz minimum (2GHz+ recommended)
  • 1024x768 or higher-resolution monitor
  • Mouse or other pointing device
  • Microsoft® Windows 10 (32-bit and 64-bit)
  • Microsoft® Windows 8 or 8.1 (32-bit and 64-bit)
  • Microsoft® Windows 7 SP1 (32-bit and 64-bit)
  • Delphi can also be run on OS X by using a virtual machine (VM) such as VMware Fusion or Parallels hosting Windows 7,8 or 10

Installation Prerequisite
The following software will automatically be installed if it not already present on operating system:

  • The Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5
  • The Microsoft Visual J 2.0 Redistributable Package
  • Windows Internet Explorer® 6.0 or higher
  • MSXML 6

For developing 64-bit Windows applications
PC running a 64-bit version of Windows or a 32-bit development PC connected with a PC running a 64-bit version of Windows

For developing OS X applications
PC running Windows connected with an Intel-based Mac or a Mac running Windows in a VM, with 2 GB RAM or more, running OS X 10.9 (Mavericks) or 10.8 (Mountain Lion)

For developing iOS applications
PC running Windows connected with an Intel-based Mac or a Mac running Windows in a VM, with 2 GB RAM or more, running OS X 10.9 or 10.8 with Xcode 5.0 or 5.1.1. An Apple Developer account is required to deploy iOS apps to physical devices.

Supported deployment platforms
PCs and tablets with Intel/AMD processors running Windows 7, 8, 8.1, 10, Server 2008, or Server 2012. Macs running OS X 10.9 or 10.10. iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch running iOS 7 through iOS 8.4. Android phones and tablets: ARMv7 devices with NEON support, running Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0.3, 4.0.4), Jelly Bean (4.1.x, 4.2.x, 4.3.x), KitKat (4.4.x) and Lollipop (5.x).

Will applications built with Delphi run on older versions of Windows including Windows Vista, XP, 2000, 95, 98 and Me?

Because of the use of Unicode as the default string type, Windows 98, 95, and ME will not run applications produced with Delphi 2009 or later. These operating systems do not support Unicode strings, and Microsoft has dropped support for them.

Applications built with Delphi 2009-XE2 and VCL will run on Windows 2000 or later. Applications built with Delphi XE3-XE5 will run on Windows XP and later. Applications built with Delphi XE6-XE7 will run on Windows 7 later.

Will apps created with Delphi run on all Android devices?

Apps created with Delphi are designed to run on Android phones and tablets: ARMv7 devices with NEON FPU support, running Android Gingerbread (2.3.3-2.7), Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0.3, 4.0.4) Jelly Bean (4.1.x, 4.2.x, 4.3.x), KitKat (4.4.x) or Lollipop(5.x). Compatibility may vary based on device hardware and specs. Click here for more details on the supported Android versions and devices, including devices we have tested.

Can I develop OS X and iOS apps if I don't have a Mac computer on site?

You can use an online service like MacinCloud to run OS X apps that you create with Delphi and you can use MacinCloud to test your iOS apps in the simulator. Access to a physical Mac machine is required for on-device testing.

Can I write a single application to deploy to both Windows and OS X using C++Builder and FireMonkey?

Yes. You can create a single application and deploy to Windows and OS X. You can also create iOS and Android mobile apps from the same codebase.

I'm wondering about moving my existing code to Unicode. What do I need to do?

Most existing code will work fine using the new default UnicodeString. Code that does byte level manipulation of string data, or that carries data in string variables probably needs to be examined and perhaps updated to account for the new character sizes inherent in Unicode string data. For more information, see the documentation and Embarcadero Developer Network for information about moving existing code to Unicode.

Can I open my projects created with earlier versions of Delphi?

Yes, you should be able to do so, depending on the installed components required by your projects. Delphi uses the MSBuild system for the build engine, and thus requires a new project file if you are upgrading from version 2007 or earlier. However, the IDE will seamlessly update your projects to the new format.

Can I develop .NET applications with Delphi?

No. Delphi produces native Windows and OS X. You can import .NET assemblies as COM objects, but the code produced by Delphi is strictly native code.

Why do I need to install the Microsoft .NET runtimes and SDK with Delphi?

Some of the functionality of the IDE requires these software packages.

Will my users / customers need the .NET runtimes / SDK in order to run my apps built with Delphi?

No. Applications produced with Delphi do not require any .NET runtime support. The product produces native compiled Windows applications based on the Windows API.

What are the differences between the ER/Studio Developer Edition data modeling capabilities in Delphi Architect and the standard ER/Studio product?

The ER/Studio Developer Edition data modeling and visualization in Delphi Architect is a subset of the full ER/Studio. Delphi Architect doesn't include metadata import/export capabilities or access to ER/Studio team repository servers. It includes limited reporting functionality (HTML only). The ER/Studio functionality in Delphi Architect supports a specific set of databases in line with those supported by dbExpress, while the full ER/Studio products offer flexible configurations for those databases and more.

Can I install Delphi on a machine with previous versions of RAD Studio, Delphi or C++Builder on it?

Yes, Delphi coexists nicely with earlier versions of RAD Studio, C++Builder and Delphi.

Are there new COMPILERVERSION and RTLVERSION values defined for Delphi?

Yes. For Delphi, COMPILERVERSION is set to 28.0, and RTLVERSION is set to 28.0.

Can I get certified as a Delphi developer?

Yes. See the Embarcadero Certification Center web page at certification for information on the Delphi developer certification program.

Is the Delphi 64-bit compiler available and how can I get it?

Yes, the 64-bit Windows compiler is included in Delphi.

What do I need to do to move my existing 32-bit Delphi applications to 64-bit?

The Delphi 64-bit information page has videos, information, resources and tips on creating 64-bit applications with Delphi.

Receive the newsletter and email alerts

Get RAD Studio Email Alerts