C++Builder - Questions fréquentes

C++Builder réunit des outils primés de développement natif accéléré en C++ pour Windows, Mac et systèmes mobiles avec prise en charge intégrale du Cloud et de l'IoT. Il propose des mises à jour de la prise en charge de CLANG 3.3 et de C++11 et les outils les plus rapides de développement Windows 10 et multisystème. C++Builder est la solution de référence pour accélérer les développements robustes d'entreprise (Enterprise Strong Development™). Il prend en charge une mémoire étendue pour les projets complexes et de multiples moniteurs et intègre un inspecteur d'objets amélioré et bien d'autres nouveautés. C++Builder est cinq fois plus rapide pour développer et déployer des applications sur de multiples appareils bureautiques et mobiles, environnements cloud et bases de données (y compris sous Windows 10 32 et 64 bits).

C++Builder – La plateforme standard de développement d'applications C++ pour Windows 10, Mac, systèmes mobiles et IoT.

ER/Studio 9.5 Developer (édition Architect uniquement) – ER/Studio aide les architectes de données à découvrir, documenter et réutiliser leurs ressources en leur offrant des outils simples d'ingénierie inverse, d'analyse et d'optimisation des bases existantes.

InterBase Developer et InterBase ToGo (édition Professional et au-delà) – InterBase Developer Edition est une excellente base de données multiplateforme pour construire et tester des applications embarquées et pour le marché des PME.

IBLite database for Windows, OS X, Android and iOS with free deployment license (in Professional with Mobile Add-On, Enterprise and Architect editions) – Use this new edition of InterBase in your mobile apps and deploy free. InterBase ToGo is also available (sold separately) for developers who want a more feature rich database with encryption to embed in their apps.

Outils additionnels – C++Builder intègre également une suite complète d’outils pour élargir son périmètre fonctionnel. Il s'agit généralement d'éditions spéciales d'outils créés pour être intégrés à C++Builder et dont les fonctionnalités peuvent différer des versions commerciales complètes.

  • FastReport VCL RAD Edition et FastReport FMX Embarcadero Edition (de Fast Reports) pour accélérer la conception et la production de rapports.
  • TeeChart Standard (Steema) une gamme de composants graphiques rapides et ergonomiques.
  • CodeSite Express pour concevoir des applications de qualité.
  • AQTime Standard, (SmartBear) pour le profilage des performances.
  • Beyond Compare Text Compare pour visualiser les différences entre fichiers source.
  • IntraWeb (Atozed) pour développer des applications Web de la même façon qu'avec C++Builder.

C++Builder est disponible en anglais, français, allemand et japonais. L'installateur permet de choisir toute combinaison de langues et il est très simple d’en changer au sein de l’EDI.

L'abonnement aux mises à jour peut être acquiss lors de l'achat du produit ou de sa mise à jour. Le contrat d'abonnement vous assure pendant une année l'accès à toutes les mises à jour (y compris aux éditions majeures) et un nombre défini d'incidents de support. Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez vous reporter au menu déroulant Support de notre site Web.

L'abonnement aux mises à jour vous permet de bénéficier des dernières mises à jour et actualisations fonctionnelles dès leur disponibilité. Les fonctionnalités mobiles de C++Builder peuvent notamment faire l'objet de fréquentes mises à jour et actualisations. L'abonnement aux mises à jour est généralement le moyen le plus économique pour rester en phase avec les dernières évolutions technologiques et mises à jour.

Les utilisateurs C++Builder peuvent télécharger les mises à jour et nouvelles éditions logicielles sur la page Web des utilisateurs enregistrés sur http://cc.embarcadero.com/reg/c_builder. D'autres mises à niveaux majeures sont proposées aux utilisateurs disposant de contrats de maintenance valides. Des notifications sont envoyées par e-mail dès la disponibilité de ces nouvelles éditions – qui peuvent être téléchargées via le portail Web de maintenance en suivant les instructions fournies dans l'e-mail.

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez consulter notre boutique en ligne et les conditions d'éligibilité de mise à jour.

Les licences Academic ne sont pas éligibles aux tarifs de migration.

C++Builder is available in four editions – Starter, Professional, Enterprise and Architect. See the C++Builder product editions page and feature matrix for details on the differences between the editions.

Pour plus d'informations sur les dernières fonctionnalités de C++Builder, veuillez vous reporter à la page sur les nouveautés de C++Builder et à la matrice fonctionnelle.

C++Builder offre de multiples options de licence:

  • Des licences individuelles dénommées, livrées par des moyens électroniques (ESD) sous forme d'un téléchargement et d'un numéro de série. Des offres remisées sont également proposées en cas d'achat groupé de 5 ou 10 licences.
  • Les licences utilisateur réseau dénommé et simultanées offrent une flexibilité incomparable d'administration et de mise à disposition des logiciels
  • Des licences réseau par Flexera FlexNet sont également disponibles sur demande.
  • Des licences « Academic » individuelles pour étudiants et formateurs et par volume pour utilisation en salle de cours sont également proposées.

Yes, 10 Seattle and below are included with your 10.1 Berlin purchase. See the C++Builder Previous Versions web page for further details.

Non. Elles sont considérées comme partie intégrante de votre licence et sont associées à votre compte utilisateur. Elles ne peuvent à ce titre être ni données, ni revendues.

La licence de votre ancienne version et votre mise à jour sont considérées comme une même licence d'utilisateur désigné couvrant les deux versions. Si vous disposez déjà d'une version antérieure et vous rendez sur la page Web pour demander une licence de la même version, vous recevrez à nouveau votre numéro de série existant.

Certains produits anciens ne sont disponibles que dans les éditions Professional et Enterprise.

Nous ne pouvons pas garantir une disponibilité permanente des versions antérieures, c'est pourquoi vous devez télécharger vos versions et licences antérieures dans les 180 jours suivant votre achat.

Les versions antérieures existent en anglais, allemand, français et japonais. Pour les versions 2007 et ultérieures, il n'existe qu'un seul package de téléchargement et la langue doit être choisie à l'installation. Pour la version 6, des téléchargements séparés sont proposés pour chaque version localisée.

L'édition Academic ne peut être utilisée qu'à des fins de formation ou en environnement de salle de classe. Les établissements de formation ne peuvent pas utiliser cette version pour développer des logiciels à utilisation interne. Ces licences ne permettent pas de bénéficier d’un tarif de mise à jour vers une licence commerciale.

Les licences Academic ne sont pas éligibles aux tarifs de migration.

Veuillez vous reporter à la liste des versions supportées pour des informations actualisées.

Certains utilisateurs pourraient être surpris d'acheter C++Builder et de recevoir simultanément 7 numéros de série et liens de téléchargement... Pour que les choses restent simples, nous ne livrons que la licence de la version effectivement achetée en laissant à l'utilisateur la liberté de choisir les autres licences qui lui sont utiles.

La version 2006 intégrait du code tiers sous licence que nous ne pouvons plus livrer. C++Builder 5 et les versions antérieures ont été abandonnées il y plusieurs années et il n'est pas prévu de les réintroduire.

Ces versions s'appuient sur une édition antérieure de notre technologie de gestion des licences.

Oui. Lors de la première utilisation, une mini-application s'ouvre pour vous demander d'enregistrer le produit. Lorsque cette opération est réalisée et la clé du produit validée, le produit peut être enregistré et installé.

L'édition InterBase XE7 Developer est la version serveur concédée jusqu'à 20 utilisateurs (80 connexions en base de données). Le logiciel InterBase est automatiquement installé par défaut avec C++Builder ; sa licence est concédée à travers le numéro de série de votre version de C++Builder. Une licence InterBase ToGo Developer est également intégrée à votre licence C++Builder. Vous pouvez déployer InterBase ToGo à des fins de test avec le numéro de série de déploiement de test figurant dans votre e-mail de livraison de C++Builder. Cette possibilité n'est pas proposée aux utilisateurs de licences réseau.

Lorsque vous êtes prêt à déployer des applications utilisant InterBase, Embarcadero propose différentes éditions (Desktop, Server et To-Go) et options de licence (système flexible de licences serveur, multipacks et licences OEM). Pour de plus amples informations, n'hésitez pas à contacter l'équipe commerciale d'Embarcadero ou ses partenaires. Reportez-vous aux conditions de licence spécifiées dans le fichier C++Builder license.rtf pour plus de détails sur les licences.

Pour obtenir votre licence de déploiement gratuit d'IBLite, veuillez utiliser le numéro de série IBLite indiqué dans votre e-mail de livraison de commande et suivre les instructions pour générer le fichier de licence que vous utiliserez pour distribuer IBLite avec vos applications Windows, OS X, iOS et Android.

Le projet open-source se situe sur http://sourceforge.net/projects/radstudioverins/. Le référentiel de code open-source est disponible dans l'onglet Code lorsque vous vous connectez au site SourceForge ou sur https://radstudioverins.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/radstudioverins/trunk/.

Les fonctionnalités de développement mobile pour iOS sont intégrées aux éditions suivantes de C++ Builder:

  • Professional avec pack additionnel Mobile Add-On
  • Enterprise
  • Ultimate
  • Architect

L'édition Professional sans pack Mobile et l'édition Starter ne prennent pas en charge le développement mobile.

Les fonctionnalités de développement mobile sont également intégrées à toutes les éditions d'Embarcadero RAD Studio.

Les connecteurs mobiles DataSnap sont intégrés à l'édition Enterprise et au-delà.

Lors du développement pour iOS, vous devez également disposer d'un ordinateur Mac pour le développement et le simulateur. Vous devez également avoir un compte Développeur Apple pour tester et déployer sur des appareils iOS. Pour plus de détails, veuillez consulter la documentation en ligne et la documentation produit.

FireDAC est un environnement simple, performant et multisystème de connexion aux bases de données d'entreprise pour Delphi, C++Builder et RAD Studio. Grâce à une puissante architecture universelle, FireDAC offre des accès directs aux applications Windows, iOS et OS X aux bases de données Oracle, SQL Server, InterBase, DB2, Firebird, SQLite, IBLite, MySQL, PostgreSQL, SQL Anywhere, Advantage DB, Access, Informix, DataSnap, etc. Au-delà de ses performances supérieures et d'accès universels, FireDAC prend également en charge les fonctionnalités spécifiques aux bases de données ainsi que les déploiements sur de multiples systèmes d'exploitation clients et plateformes cibles.

FireDAC est inclus dans le cadre de l'installation du produit. Les fonctionnalités varient en fonction de l'édition : connexions locales/embarquées à une sélection de bases de données pour l'édition Professional ; connexions locales/embarquées et aux bases de données d'entreprise pour l'édition Enterprise (et supérieures) ou avec l'achat du Pack additionnel client/serveur pour l'édition Professional. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez consulter http://www.embarcadero.com/fr/products/rad-studio/firedac.

Oui. Vous pouvez développer des applications sur le système d'exploitation Windows le plus productif pour vous et de les déployer indifféremment sur l'un ou l'autre de ces environnements (Windows 8, 7, Server 2012 ou Server 2008).

La technologie de connecteurs mobiles DataSnap génère du code de connectivité que vous pouvez intégrer à vos applications mobiles pour iOS, Android, Blackberry et Windows Phone 7. Vous développez alors des applications mobiles avec les outils et langages spécifiques à chaque plateforme (Objective C avec l'EDI Xcode pour iOS, Java pour Android et Blackberry, Silverlight pour Windows Phone 7). Le code DataSnap assure alors la connexion avec votre serveur DataSnap natif C++Builder ou Delphi.

Les connecteurs DataSnap prennent en charge les plateformes mobiles suivantes:

  • Android 2.x, 3.x ou 4.x (Java)
  • Windows Phone 7 (C# Silverlight – Tous appareils compatibles avec la plateforme)
  • iOS 7 et 8 (Objective-C)
  • 1 Go de RAM (2 Go ou plus recommandés)
  • 3-30 Go d'espace disque libre selon l'édition et la configuration
  • Lecteur de DVD-ROM (en cas d’installation avec le kit média DVD)
  • Basic GPU – Type DirectX 9.0 ou supérieur de n'importe quel éditeur (Pixel Shader Level 2)
  • Intel® Pentium® ou compatible, 1,6 GHz minimum (2GHz+ recommandé)
  • Résolution 1024x768 ou supérieure
  • Souris ou autre périphérique de pointage
  • Microsoft® Windows 10 (32 et 64 bits)
  • Microsoft® Windows 8 ou 8.1 (32 et 64 bits)
  • Microsoft® Windows 7 SP1 (32 et 64 bits)
  • C++Builder peut également être exécuté sous OS X en utilisant une machine virtuelle (VM) telle que VMware Fusion ou Parallels hébergeant Windows 7, 8 ou 10.

Prérequis d'installation
Les logiciels suivants seront automatiquement installés s'ils ne sont pas déjà présents dans le système d'exploitation:

  • Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5
  • Package redistribuable Microsoft Visual J 2.0
  • Windows Internet Explorer® 6.0 ou ultérieur
  • MSXML 6

Développement Windows 64 bits
PC équipé d'une version 64 bits de Windows ou PC de développement 32 bits connecté à un PC exécutant une version 64 bits de Windows.

Développement OS X
PC Windows connecté à un Mac à processeur Intel ou Mac exécutant Windows dans une machine virtuelle, avec 2 Go de RAM ou plus, sous OS X 10.9 (Mavericks) ou 10.8 (Mountain Lion).

Développement iOS
PC Windows connecté à un Mac à processeur Intel ou Mac exécutant Windows dans une machine virtuelle, avec 2 Go de RAM ou plus, sous OS X 10.9 ou 10.8 avec Xcode 5.0 ou 5.1.1. Un compte Développeur Apple est nécessaire pour déployer des applications iOS sur les systèmes physiques.

Plateformes de déploiement prises en charge
PC et tablettes à processeurs Intel/AMD sous Windows 7 SP1, 8, 8.1, Windows Server 2008 ou Windows Server 2012. Mac sous OS X 10.8 ou 10.9. iPhone, iPad ou iPod Touch sous iOS 7 Microsoft Windows Server® 2008 & 2012. Téléphones et tablettes Android : appareils à processeurs ARMv7 avec support NEON sous Android Gingerbread (2.3.3-2.7), Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0.3, 4.0.4), Jelly Bean (4.1.x, 4.2.x ou 4.3.x) ou KitKat (4.4.x).

En raison de l'utilisation d'Unicode comme type de chaîne par défaut, les applications écrites avec C++Builder 2009 ou une version ultérieure ne fonctionnent pas sous Windows 98, 95 et ME. Ces systèmes ne prennent pas en charge Unicode et Microsoft n'en assure plus le support.

Les applications développées avec C++Builder 2009-XE2 et VCL fonctionnent sous Windows 2000 et ultérieur. Les applications développées avec C++Builder XE3-XE5 fonctionnent sous Windows XP et ultérieur. Les applications développées avec C++Builder XE6 ou ultérieur fonctionnent sous Windows 7 et ultérieur.

Les applications créées avec C++Builder fonctionnent sur les téléphones et tablettes Android à processeurs ARMv7 avec support NEON FPU sous Android Gingerbread (2.3.3-2.7), Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0.3, 4.0.4), Jelly Bean (4.1.x, 4.2.x, 4.3.x) ou KitKat (4.4.x). La compatibilité peut varier en fonction du système matériel et des spécifications du dispositif. Veuillez cliquer ici pour plus de détails sur les versions et appareils Android pris en charge (y compris ceux que nous avons testés).

Un service en ligne tel que MacinCloud vous permet de lancer les applications OS X créées avec C++Builder. L'accès physique à une machine Mac est requis pour les tests sur l'appareil.

Oui. Vous pouvez créer une seule application et la déployer sous Windows et OS X. Vous pouvez également créer des applications mobiles iOS et Android à partir de la même base de code.

La plupart du code existant fonctionnera parfaitement en utilisant le nouveau module UnicodeString par défaut. Le code réalisant des manipulations de chaînes de niveau octet ou portant des données dans les variables de chaînes devra probablement être analysé et mis à jour pour prendre en charge les nouvelles tailles de caractères propres aux chaînes Unicode. Pour plus d'informations sur les migrations Unicode, veuillez vous reporter à la documentation et à Embarcadero Developer Network.

Normalement oui, en fonction des composants installés nécessaires au projet. C++Builder utilise le système MSBuild comme moteur de construction ; par conséquent, cette version exige un nouveau fichier de projet en cas de mise à jour depuis une version 2007 ou antérieure. Cependant, l'EDI réalise une mise à jour transparente des projets dans le nouveau format.

Non. C++Builder produit des solutions natives Windows et OS X. Il est possible d'importer des assemblages .NET en tant qu'objets COM, cependant, le code produit par C++Builder est strictement natif.

Certaines fonctionnalités de l'EDI exigent la présence de ces packages logiciels.

Non. Les applications produites avec C++Builder XE7 ne nécessitent aucun support d'exécution .NET. Le produit génère des applications Windows natives compilées basées sur l'API Windows.

Les fonctionnalités de modélisation et de visualisation d’ER/Studio Developer proposées avec C++Builder Architect sont un sous-ensemble du produit complet. C++Builder Architect ne propose pas de fonctionnalités d'import/export des métadonnées ni d'accès aux serveurs de référentiel d'équipe d'ER/Studio. Ses fonctionnalités de reporting sont limitées (HTML uniquement). Les fonctionnalités ER/Studio de C++Builder Architect supportent un jeu spécifique de bases de données aligné sur celles prises en charge par dbExpress, alors que les produits ER/Studio complets proposent des configurations flexibles pour ces bases de données et d'autres.

Oui. C++Builder cohabite parfaitement avec toutes les versions antérieures de RAD Studio, C++Builder et Delphi.

Oui, le compilateur 64 bits est inclus avec C++Builder.

La page d'information sur C++Builder 64 bits vous propose des vidéos, informations, ressources et astuces de création d'applications 64 bits avec C++Builder.

C++Builder Frequently Asked Questions

C++ Builder is the award winning rapid C++ application development toolset for native Windows, Mac, and Mobile development, with broad Cloud and IoT support. It features updated CLANG 3.3 and C++11 support with the fastest Windows 10 and multi-device development tools. C++ Builder is your choice for ultra-fast Enterprise Strong Development™. Enhancements include double the available memory for large projects, extended multi-monitor support, improved Object Inspector, and much more. C++ Builder is 5x faster for development and deployment across multiple desktop, mobile, cloud, and database platforms including 32-bit and 64-bit Windows 10.

C++Builder – The Standard C++ Application Development Platform for Windows 10, Mac, Mobile and IoT.

ER/Studio 9.5 Developer Edition (in Architect edition only) – ER/Studio helps data architects discover, document, and re-use data assets and gives you the power to easily reverse-engineer, analyze, and optimize existing databases.

InterBase Developer Edition and InterBase ToGo (in Professional edition and above) – InterBase Developer Edition provides developers with the best cross-platform database to build and test database applications for embedded and SME applications.

IBLite database for Windows, OS X, Android and iOS with free deployment license (in Professional with Mobile Add-On, Enterprise and Architect editions) – Use this new edition of InterBase in your mobile apps and deploy free. InterBase ToGo is also available (sold separately) for developers who want a more feature rich database with encryption to embed in their apps.

Additional Tools – C++Builder includes a comprehensive set of additional tools to help you do more than ever before. These are generally special editions of the tools created to be bundled with C++Builder and the feature sets may differ from the full commercial versions.

  • FastReport VCL RAD edition and FastReport FireMonkey Embarcadero Edition from Fast Reports so you can quickly design and generate reports
  • TeeChart Standard from Steema provides quick and easy-to-use charting components
  • CodeSite Express logging tools for building quality applications
  • AQtime Standard from SmartBear for performance profiling
  • Beyond Compare Text Compare lets you view differences between source files
  • IntraWeb from Atozed for building web applications in the same way you build C++Builder applications

C++Builder is available in English, French, German and Japanese. The installer lets you choose any combination of languages and it's easy to switch between languages in the IDE.

You can view pricing and purchase C++Builder from Embarcadero Sales, one of our valuable partners, or our online Embarcadero Shop site.

Update Subscription can be purchased at the time you purchase your C++Builder product or upgrade. The Update Subscription agreement gives you a year of upgrades (including major version releases) and a specified number of support incidents. See the Support dropdown menu item of our web site for additional information.

With Update Subscription, you get the latest feature updates and upgrades as they are released. The mobile functionality in C++Builder may have frequent upgrades and feature updates. Update Subscription is generally the most cost effective way to stay up-to-date with the latest versions.

Updates and additional software for C++Builder users are available on the registered users download page at http://cc.embarcadero.com/reg/c_builder. More major new feature upgrades are available only to users with current Maintenance agreements. Notifications for those upgrades are delivered via email and the upgrades can be downloaded via the Maintenance Portal web site by following the instructions in the email.

You can visit our online store and the upgrade qualifications page.

Academic products do not qualify for upgrade pricing.

C++Builder is available in four editions – Starter, Professional, Enterprise and Architect. See the C++Builder product editions page and feature matrix for details on the differences between the editions.

For more information on the newest features in C++Builder, be sure to visit the C++Builder What's New page and the feature matrix.

C++Builder is available with multiple licensing options including:

  • Individual named user licenses delivered via electronic software delivery (ESD) as a download and serial number. Discounted 5-packs and 10-packs are also available.
  • Network Named and Concurrent user licenses which provides the additional flexibility of managing licenses on a license server plus software provisioning.
  • Network licenses managed by Flexera FlexNet are available on a special request basis.
  • Academic individual licenses for students and educators as well as volume licenses for classroom use.

Yes, 10 Seattle and below are included with your 10.1 Berlin purchase. See the C++Builder Previous Versions web page for further details.

No. They are considered part of your license and are tied to your user account. They cannot be given away or sold.

Your earlier version license, and the version you upgrade to, are considered one named user license that covers both versions. If you already own an earlier version and go to the web page and request the same version license, you will just get a re-send of your existing serial number.

Some of those earlier products are only available as Professional and Enterprise editions.

We can't guarantee that the older versions will be available indefinitely, so you should be sure to download your earlier version software and licenses within 180 days.

The earlier versions are available in English, French, German and Japanese. For versions 2007 and later, there is a single download and you choose the language at install time. For version 6, there is a separate download for each localized version.

The Academic edition can be used only for learning in an academic or classroom environment. Educational institutions cannot use the academic version to produce software for use within their institution. Academic products do not qualify for upgrade pricing to commercial licenses.

Academic products do not qualify for upgrade pricing.

It could be a little confusing for some customers when they purchase C++Builder and receive seven different serial numbers and download links. We tried to keep it simple by just delivering the license for the purchased version and allow you to request the other licenses as needed.

Version 2006 included some third party licensed code that we are no longer able to ship. C++Builder 5 and earlier were discontinued years ago and we don't have plans to bring them back.

That version used an earlier version of our licensing technology.

Yes. When you first run the product, a small application will open and ask you to register the product. Once that is done, and your product key is validated, then your product will be registered and installed.

InterBase XE7 Developer Edition is InterBase XE7 Server licensed for up to 20 users (80 database connections). The InterBase software is automatically installed with a default install of C++Builder and licensed with your C++Builder serial number. An InterBase ToGo developer license is also included in your C++Builder license. You can deploy InterBase ToGo for testing purposes using the InterBase ToGo Test Deployment serial number included as part of your C++Builder order delivery email. This is not available for Network license users.

When you're ready to deploy applications using InterBase, Embarcadero offers a variety of editions (Desktop, Server and To-Go) and a variety of licensing options (flexible server licensing, multi-packs and OEM licensing). Contact Embarcadero Sales or partners for more information. See the license terms in the C++Builder license.rtf file for additional licensing details.

To obtain your free IBLite deployment license, use the IBLite serial number in your order delivery email and follow the instructions to generate a license file that you will use to distribute IBLite with your Windows, OS X, iOS and Android applications.

The open source project is http://sourceforge.net/projects/radstudioverins/. The repository for the open source code is available from the "Code" tab when you're logged in to SourceForge web site or at https://radstudioverins.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/radstudioverins/trunk/.

Mobile development features for iOS are available in the following editions of C++Builder:

  • Professional with Mobile Add-On Pack
  • Enterprise
  • Ultimate
  • Architect

Professional edition without the Mobile Add-On Pack and Starter edition do not support mobile development.

Mobile development features are also included in all editions of Embarcadero RAD Studio.

DataSnap Mobile Connectors are available in Enterprise edition and above.

When developing for iOS, you will also need a Mac computer for development and running in the simulator. You will need an Apple Developer account to test and deploy to iOS devices. Additional details are available in the online and product documentation.

FireDAC provides easy-to-use, high performance, multi-device enterprise database connectivity for Delphi, C++Builder and RAD Studio. With its powerful universal architecture FireDAC enables direct access from your application from your Windows, iOS and OS X applications to Oracle, SQL Server, InterBase, DB2, Firebird, SQLite, IBLite, MySQL, PostgreSQL, SQL Anywhere, Advantage DB, Access, Informix, DataSnap and more. In addition to blazing speed and universal access, FireDAC also supports vendor specific database features as well as deployment across multiple client operating systems and device platforms.

FireDAC is include as part of the install. Features vary by edition with local/embedded database connectivity to select databases in Professional edition and local/embedded plus enterprise database connectivity in Enterprise edition or higher, or with purchase of the Client/Server Add-On Pack for Professional. More information is available at /products/rad-studio/firedac.

Yes. You develop applications on the Windows OS that is most productive for you, so you can develop applications on your choice of operating systems (Windows 8, Windows 7, Server 2012 or Server 2008).

The DataSnap Mobile Connector feature generates connectivity code that you can incorporate into mobile applications for iOS, Android, Blackberry and Windows Phone 7. You develop your mobile applications using the standard development tools and languages for each platform such as Objective C with the Xcode IDE for iOS, Java for Android and Blackberry, or Silverlight for Windows Phone 7. You then use the DataSnap Mobile Connector code to provide connectivity to your native C++Builder or Delphi DataSnap server.

The following mobile platforms are currently supported by the various DataSnap Connectors:

  • Android 2.x, 3.x, or 4.x (Java)
  • Windows Phone 7 (C# Silverlight--all devices compatible with the platform)
  • NEW iOS 7 and 8 (Objective-C)
  • 1 GB RAM (2 GB+ recommended)
  • 3-30 GB free hard disk space depending on edition and configuration
  • DVD-ROM drive (if installing from a Media Kit DVD)
  • Basic GPU – Any vendor DirectX 9.0 class or better (Pixel Shader Level 2)
  • Intel® Pentium® or compatible, 1.6 GHz minimum (2GHz+ recommended)
  • 1024x768 or higher-resolution monitor
  • Mouse or other pointing device
  • Microsoft® Windows 10 (32-bit and 64-bit)
  • Microsoft® Windows 8 or 8.1 (32-bit and 64-bit)
  • Microsoft® Windows 7 SP1 (32-bit and 64-bit)
  • C++Builder can also be run on OS X by using a virtual machine (VM) such as VMware Fusion or Parallels hosting Windows 7, 8 or 10

Installation Prerequisite
The following software will automatically be installed if it not already present on operating system:

  • The Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5
  • The Microsoft Visual J 2.0 Redistributable Package
  • Windows Internet Explorer® 6.0 or higher
  • MSXML 6

For developing 64-bit Windows applications
PC running a 64-bit version of Windows or a 32-bit development PC connected with a PC running a 64-bit version of Windows

For developing OS X applications
PC running Windows connected with an Intel-based Mac or a Mac running Windows in a VM, with 2 GB RAM or more, running OS X 10.9 (Mavericks) or 10.8 (Mountain Lion)

For developing iOS applications
PC running Windows connected with an Intel-based Mac or a Mac running Windows in a VM, with 2 GB RAM or more, running OS X 10.9 or 10.8 with Xcode 5.0 or 5.1.1. An Apple Developer account is required to deploy iOS apps to physical devices.

Supported deployment platforms
PCs and tablets with Intel/AMD processors running Windows 7 SP1, 8, 8.1, 10, Windows Server 2008 or Windows Server 2012. Macs running OS X 10.9, 10.10 and 10.11 (with Update 1). iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch running iOS 7, 8 and 9. Android phones and tablets: ARMv7 devices with NEON support, Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0.3, 4.0.4), Jelly Bean (4.1.x, 4.2.x, 4.3.x), KitKat (4.4.x), Lollipop (5.x) and Marshmallow (6.x).

Because of the use of Unicode as the default string type, Windows 98, 95, and ME will not run applications produced with C++Builder 2009 or later. These operating systems do not support Unicode strings, and Microsoft has dropped support for them.

Applications built with C++Builder 2009-XE2 and VCL will run on Windows 2000 or later. Applications built with C++Builder XE3-XE5 will run on Windows XP and later. Applications built with C++Builder XE6-XE8 will run on Windows 7 or later.

Apps created C++Builder are designed to run on Android phones and tablets: ARMv7 devices with NEON FPU support, running Android Gingerbread (2.3.3-2.7), Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0.3, 4.0.4), Jelly Bean (4.1.x, 4.2.x, 4.3.x) or KitKat (4.4.x). Compatibility may vary based on device hardware and specs. Click here for more details on the supported Android versions and devices, including devices we have tested.

You can use an online service like MacinCloud to run OS X apps that you create with C++Builder. Access to a physical Mac machine is required for iOS on-device testing.

Yes. You can create a single application and deploy to Windows and OS X. You can also create iOS and Android mobile apps from the same codebase.

Most existing code will work fine using the new default UnicodeString. Code that does byte level manipulation of string data, or that carries data in string variables probably needs to be examined and perhaps updated to account for the new character sizes inherent in Unicode string data. For more information, see the documentation and Embarcadero Developer Network for information about moving existing code to Unicode.

Yes, you should be able to do so, depending on the installed components required by your projects. C++Builder uses the MSBuild system for the build engine, and thus requires a new project file if you are upgrading from version 2007 or earlier. However, the IDE will seamlessly update your projects to the new format.

No. C++Builder produces native Windows and OS X. You can import .NET assemblies as COM objects, but the code produced by C++Builder is strictly native code.

Some of the functionality of the IDE requires these software packages.

No. Applications produced with C++Builder do not require any .NET runtime support. The product produces native compiled Windows applications based on the Windows API.

The ER/Studio Developer Edition data modeling and visualization in C++Builder Architect is a subset of the full ER/Studio. C++Builder Architect doesn't include metadata import/export capabilities or access to ER/Studio team repository servers. It includes limited reporting functionality (HTML only). The ER/Studio functionality in C++Builder Architect supports a specific set of databases in line with those supported by dbExpress, while the full ER/Studio products offer flexible configurations for those databases and more.

Yes, C++Builder coexists nicely with earlier versions of RAD Studio, C++Builder and Delphi.

Yes, the 64-bit Windows compiler is included in C++Builder.

The C++Builder 64-bit information page has videos, information, resources and tips on creating 64-bit applications with C++Builder.